EARLY GOVERNMENT

                                     (From 1848)


 In 1848 the setting up of the "Hundred of Pupuke" gave the landholders at North 
Shore some small degree of self-government.   The Constitution Act set up Provincial 
Councils and the Provincial  Govt. of Auckland was the immediate  governing body.

Among the first Council Members were Allan and James O'NEILL, who owned manquill.gif (7285 bytes)part 
of Stanley Point and the present O'Neills Point.  Sir Frederick 
WHITAKER owned the 5 acre block fronting  Victoria Rd 
and Clarence St. Mr. BECKHAM  lived on the Beach Rd.    
Mr. W.J.HURST (whose name is perpetuated in   Hurstmere 
Ave., Takapuna)was many years M.H.R. for the Waitemata 
as well  as  being on the Council. G.M.REID, a well known 
newspaper man,  lived at Cheltenham. Captain DALDY owned 
a large area behind  Mt. Victoria. Maurice O'RORKE, W.L.REES,      P.A.PHILLIPS,     J.T. BOYLAN, John LUNDON, F.M BROOKFIELD,            Mr. R.  G. WOOD, Mr. George WEBSTER, J. Logan CAMPBELL,  J. CADMAN ,  H.McILHONE, I.R.COOPER and many   other men were all property owners  on the Shore and Members of the Provincial Council.                                   

On Dec. 19th. 1851 the first By Laws were drawn up.. These were signed 
                  by  Thomas POYNTON and P. MELAVIN.

The course of Politics was as rocky then as it is today. In 1853 an
advertisement was inserted in the paper, protesting against the
                        Election, for a variety of reasons. 
smokeani.gif (24596 bytes)                  

         The following names were appended to the Advertisement:    W. MENARY. B. MENARY. G.H. ALDRICH,   ROBT. MACKAY,  M.SHEA,   F.P. GARDNER, E. BIDDLE,        W. DAVIS,   J. ANDREWS, H. WILSON,  B. BUTTERWORTH     W. TREVARTHEN,    R. PHILP, T. DUDER, A. ALISON,   W. OLIVER, T. HAMMOND, E. HAMMOND, R. EAMES,   W.  NICHOLSON,   
                  P.MCNENNY, T. POYNTON.                           


      sheep.gif (1659 bytes)Home

      bar64.gif (3871 bytes)